Leeds TV

Sunrise Sunset

ENGLAND: Three lions squad for World Cup Qualifiers announced

ENGLAND: Three lions squad for World Cup Qualifiers announced

PA Wire


The heartbreak of the Euro 2020 final is still very fresh for England fans, the summer it was meant to come home and at the very last minute it didn’t.

Now, the England squad will group together for the first time since that dreaded night at Wembley.

The Three Lions have a busy international break planned ahead, with three World Cup Qualifiers to play.

Gareth Southgate’s team will face Hungary, Andorra and Poland, as England look to continue their strong start to qualifying.

Selecting the England squad in this current generation of players must be difficult job for Southgate, which isn’t a bad problem to have.

A problem Gareth wouldn’t be hoping to have, however, is his key players still being haunted by injuries.

Marcus Rashford is still recovering from shoulder surgery, which he had delayed to take part in Euro 2020.

National treasure and the man who had the nation dying their hair bleach blonde, Phil Foden, will also miss out due to injury.

Both players being injured will be a massive blow for Southgate.

Two other notable exclusions to the squad are Chelsea’s Ben Chilwell and Arsenal new man Ben White.

Both were in the Euro’s squad, but wont be called up for this international break.

Mason Greenwood has impressed in Man United’s first couple of games, although he too misses out on a call up.

The England boss will have been thankful to see Trent Alexander-Arnold make a speedy recovery over the summer and the Liverpool full back has been selected for the games ahead.

Burnley keeper Nick Pope and Manchester United attacking midfielder Jesse Lingard have both been welcomed back to the England squad.

Patrick Bamford has also received a call up from Southgate, he will be hoping to receive his first England cap.

The full squad looks like this:

Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone, Jordan Pickford and Nick Pope

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Coady, Tyrone Mings, Reece James, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham, Jordan Henderson, Jesse Lingard, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips and Declan Rice

Forwards: Patrick Bamford, Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Bukayo Saka, Jadon Sancho and Raheem Sterling.

Watch Live

Watch the channel on TV






Virgin Media